Skip to content

Hellschreiber QSO

March 3, 2008

Thanks to Wayne, NM3B, I had my first Hellschreiber or FeldHell mode contact on 3rd March 2008. Despite considerable noise the contact was Q5 both ways and this fuzzy mode worked well. The image below is a screen shot of the contact. I was running my usual 5W from the K3 and Wayne, in St Marys PA, gave me a 559 report.

Hellschreiber QSO

Hellschreiber was developed by Rudolph Hell in the 1920s. When researching this mode I came across an excellent video by Randy, K7AGE, who explains Hellschreiber and shows it in operation. Take a look.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 3:59 pm

    Dear om, I can understand the excitement. I had mine last week, with somebody with an original WWII Feld Hell Schreiber.

Leave a Reply

