Skip to content

Joined Twitter

June 15, 2008

Well I finally got around to registering for Twitter for amateur radio related activities.  If you do not know what Twitter is then watch this video from the CommonCraft.com people (they make great videos!)

A few amateur radio bloggers have posted about Twitter, including K0NR and KA3DRR here and here.

Twitter and its clones (such as Pownce and Plurk) have been called micro-blogging.  In 140 characters or less you can broadcast a quick update at what you are currently doing. I can see the benefit for skeds, quick news of openings or DX, or just letting people know I am in the shack.  I am interested to see how useful this will be.  In short, I will watch the ‘signal to noise’ ratio from Twitter.

If you also use Twitter  let me know, I may want to follow what you are up to in the world of amateur radio. Please post a comment here too with your experience of using Twitter for amateur radio.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2008 8:07 am

    I’m aware of what Twitter is, and that some folks are using it to post each and every QSO. It can be done, but I ask myself “why?” Unless I’m missing something, at best that it could be used for DX spotting or for checking whether a buddy is active on a given band. At worst, it’s like posting your log book a line at a time.

    I’m open minded on this (show me!), but I must be on the OF side of the generation divide…

    73

  2. va3stl permalink*
    June 16, 2008 10:00 pm

    You raise a good point Martin. This is something I thought about for a while and also why I asked Scot, KA3DRR, for his opinion (check his blog). After thinking about it I decided to give it a try and see how it goes. For sure it is different to a blog, which I think works very well for amateur radio.

    How can it work for me? If I post on Twitter that I am in the shack I may get a contact out of it, through a quickly arranged sked. Alternatively, it just provides a type of interaction with other amateurs, similar to attending the local amateur radio club. As I have a busy work schedule and a young family I get limited time in the shack or chance to go to the local club (I have been to only two monthly meetings since last Sept.). Twitter may offer something here. I enjoy reading the blogs of amateurs, you can get to see the diversity of interests, for example look at VA3QV’s (whom I know personally and I can keep up to date with through his blog), N0TU’s, Scott’s, KA3DRR or your own. All are different and quite individual. I like reading each one as I see how people enjoy this hobby. Maybe Twitter will add something extra too.

    It is an experiment and I will see how it goes. My concern was indicated in my post with mention to the ‘signal to noise’ ratio. If it looks like there is too much ‘noise’ I will ‘spin the dial’ or go QRT, but for the time being I will give it a try.

    Tnx for the comment, it is appreciated. Let me know if you decide to give Twitter a try.

    73

Leave a Reply

