Skip to content

First reports on my QRSS signal

January 18, 2009

QRSS Report from KU7Z 18th Jan 2009 (my signal is just above 10.1400 MHz

QRSS Report from KU7Z 18th Jan 2009, my signal is below W1BW's 'W' and just above 10.1400 MHz. (click to enlarge)

This week I started some QRSS transmitting tests, sending my callsign at QRSS3 (3s for a ‘dit’) with a 1 minute spacing before the next sending. Yesterday, Mark KU7Z in Northern Utah reported seeing my QRSS signal. At the time I was running 500mW from the K3 using basic on-off keying.  Today I reduced the power to 200mW and was seen again by Mark (see image above), as well as turning up on VE7TIL’s grabber. See below.

Screenshot of VE7TIL grabber 18th Jan 2009

Screenshot of VE7TIL grabber 18th Jan 2009 (click to enlarge)

My signal is in there, right at the very bottom of the screenshot.

Getting into the 100Hz QRSS ‘band’ can be tricky.  I certainly appreciate these reports. As they help me to adjust the frequency as necessary

The problem of trying to get into the QRSS zone has prompted Bill, I0/N2CQR to proposed through his SolderSmoke blog and podcasts a way of helping North American amateurs to calibrate their transmitters and lock into this very narrow band.  Remember, we are talking about 100Hz, approximately 1/27 of the typical SSB signal bandwidth. Bill’s proposal makes good sense. I am fortunate that the K3 has a fine frequency adjustment so I can shift in 10Hz steps, but of course there will be a small frequency error, which is looking like around 40 Hz with my K3. You can read, from a previous post, about how I calibrated my K3 reference oscillator.

So a successful weekend with QRSS,   More transmitting than receiving this weekend. Now it is time to start building the dedicated QRSS transmitter.  I have a draft design in my note book, just need a little spare time to build it, which unfortunately I do not have too much of at the moment.

Finally, many thanks to Mark, KU7Z for the report and VE7TIL for providing the grabber.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Scot permalink
    January 18, 2009 11:16 pm

    Hi, Alan

    A job well done and congratulations. I’m absolutely fascinated by your QRSS adventure. This is the future of ham radio. Outstanding!

    73
    Scot, KA3DRR

    • va3stl permalink*
      January 20, 2009 12:15 pm

      Scot,
      Thanks for the comment. I appreciate you following my posts on QRSS.

      I’ve had quite a lot of fun with QRSS so far. It is a simple and elegant concept, with proven results at QRPp levels. The mix of homebrew transmitters and spectral analysis software means there is plenty of potential to build, experiment and learn. That 100Hz ‘band’ does require precision, which brings in a challenge too.

      73
      Alan
      VA3STL

Leave a Reply

