Skip to content

Map of QRSS activity

February 22, 2009

Click on the map to go to the full Platial QRSS map

Part of the QRSS platial map.

QRSS transmitters and grabbers are located all over the World and since it is useful to see where these locations actually are I have started to compile a platial.com QRSS map. The map can be found here and will also appear in my sidebar to the right, alternating with my HF contacts map. (Seems I am limited to only one platial map widget at a time.)

The map has images and links to images to help QRSS listeners  (should we be called  ‘watchers’?) identify signals. It will take me time to add images so keep checking the map.

If you have a QRSS transmitter or grabber that is not on the map and you would like it included, then feel free to contact me.  I am also looking for clear images of signals that I can use without copyright restrictions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve, G0XAR permalink
    April 17, 2009 11:25 am

    Alan,

    This is really great. What would really help beginners such as me is to publish a list of frequencies that are used by QRSS transmitters. I have played a bit on 40 and 3o meters using rock bound TX s however I will shortly have the capability of generating QRSS on pretty much any frequency from top band to 70cms, and it would be fun to activate some of the lesser used bands.

    Regards,

    Steve G0XAR

    • va3stl permalink*
      April 17, 2009 8:01 pm

      Steve,

      Thanks for the comment.

      I have actually shelved the QRSS map, as I encountered a bug with the Platial map. Then Eldon, WA0UWH, started a great Google map which can be found here. This map is much more up to date.

      As for the frequencies, well 30m is still a staple and I recommend you check the QRSS Knights clipboard. This will list the current frequencies being used. The QRSS Knights e-mail list has regular discussions of frequencies to use on other bands and there is some experimentation. If you have rock bound TXs then you may want to consider a DDS source, so you are much more frequency agile. Hope this helps.

      73
      Alan

Leave a Reply

