Skip to content

Experimenting with the Buddistick

May 20, 2009

I have to admit I have had a Buddistick™ for a while but never really used it. Last weekend was a long weekend in Canada (Monday was Victoria Day) and the family, including my mother visiting from the UK, occupied a cottage on the Rideau River in the village of Burritts Rapids.  Now was a good chance to do some portable work and I decided to use the Buddistick™ as the antenna.

Buddistick setup on a tripod with single counterpoise

Buddistick setup on a tripod with single counterpoise

Well, as all the family was there and the kids and myself wanted to do some fishing I did not spend too much time with the radio, but when I did I was more involved in investigating the best settings for the antenna (coil tap points and counterpoise lengths).  Here is a brief summary of my findings, which used the standard Buddistick™ on a camera tripod and a single elevated counterpoise.

Band Tap point Counterpoise Length

17m

8

13 feet

20m

12

13 feet

40m

Full coil

31 feet

Notes:

  • The tap point count is from the top of the coil (at the telescopic section end)
  • These settings were to achieve <2:1 SWR across most of the band.
  • On 40m the SWR rose above 2:1 towards the low frequency (CW) part of the band
  • To help with quick adjustment the supplied counterpoise was marked at 23ft, 15ft and 10ft lengths.

If you have any different findings or tips on using the Buddistick™ I would be glad to receive them and share them here.

As I said, I did not have much time to operate, but I did make one contact on Monday morning, Wit, W1IT in South Carolina, heard me reply to his CQ on 40m.  He could pull out my 10W signal from the K2 and Buddistick™ on SSB and we had a nice chat.

As for the fishing, both children (aged 5 and 7), as well as Dad, caught rock bass.  The kids were interested to see the bright red eye, as well as the relatively large mouths of these little fish.  A great weekend was had by all the family.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ray permalink
    May 11, 2010 3:19 pm

    enjoy your web site. Just starting PSK31.

    • va3stl permalink*
      May 11, 2010 11:03 pm

      Ray,

      Thank you for the nice comment. Keep coming back and feel free to make comments.

      Hope to work you on PSK31.

      73
      Alan

  2. Willie permalink
    August 21, 2010 7:10 pm

    BUDDSTICK is a great piece of work. During the November deer season here I worked GREENLAND for a good CW chat. Not just a little QSO but a DX ragchew.

    Also this June I copied KPH and KSM on the NIGHT OF NIGHTS event and worked their club station K6KPH on 20 with the BUDDSTICK. ( type KPH into utube, what an orginization the Maratime Radio Historical Society)

    Can’t wait to put my inbound KX-1 on it and see what develops!

Leave a Reply

