Skip to content

Beacons on HF and VHF

October 28, 2009
tags: ,

Last week I fired back up the 30m QRSS beacon.  This has been in storage for quite a while and I was curious to see if it was still within the 100Hz QRSS band on 30m.  As you can see from the pictures below it still is and it was reaching the ‘local’ grabbers of Vernon, VE1VDM (598miles away)and Bruce, W1BW (285miles away).  Power from the beacon is 160mW on the frequency of 10.14003MHz and it is looking nice and stable.  In case your interested the frequency shift keying has a pull of 6Hz.   Yes, that is Hertz! It still amazes me how stable this is.  Details of the build can be found on a previous post.  I will add the circuit diagrams of this homebrew design, once I get time to move my hand-drawn circuits to the computer.

cVA3STL 160mW QRSS beacon received at VE1VDM on 24/1009

VA3STL 160mW QRSS beacon received at VE1VDM on 24/1009

VA3STL 160mW QRSS beacon received by W1BW on 24/10/09

VA3STL 160mW QRSS beacon received by W1BW on 24/10/09

Besides the QRSS beacon, I have also been running a D-RATS D-STAR beacon on 145.670MHz.  So if you have D-STAR capabilities in the Ottawa area, try and see if you can hear my signal and send me a message.  I usually post details of when the beacon is running on the OARDG group message board.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

