Skip to content

Manotick Amateur Radio Group

March 1, 2010
tags:

MARG February Meeting - photograph courtesy of JP, VA3JPG (who has the copyright)

Last month I gave my Kits and Hombrew talk to the Manotick Amateur Radio Group (MARG). The room in the Manotick public library was full and I had great response from the audience.

This club is doing very well.  It has a growing membership and currently one of the most active repeaters, VE3RIX, in the Ottawa area (145.45 MHz -).  The repeater is linked to Echolink and IRLP if you want to drop in to see what is happening in Ottawa.  Full details of the repeater can be found at MARG’s excellent website (see the top of the left hand side panel).  If you are in the Eastern Ontario region check out their map of the local repeaters.

Manotick is small community just South of Ottawa (actually now part of the City of Ottawa) that is sited on two sides of the Rideau River, as well as an island, Long Island.

Thanks to Mike, VA3MPM the club president and the rest of the executive for inviting me.  I was chatting to Martin, VA3SIE, last Friday on 2m and he informed me he will be the guest speaker at MARG’s next meeting.  That should be a great talk about SOTA and his portable HF activities.

If there are any amateur radio clubs in, or around, Ottawa who would like me to present my talk at their club, please feel free to contact me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 7:05 pm

    You’re right about the repeater, Alan. There’s always someone listening on VE3RIX. I recently asked someone why I could hear a TV channel on my car radio (87.7MHz) and just like that there were four or five folks jumping in with the answer!

Leave a Reply

