Skip to content

More Travelling

June 8, 2011
tags:

Window sign "Radio Was Born Here"

"Radio was born here" sign in an old CBC building

Once again, I am travelling because of work.  This time it is the other side of North America, I am currently in St John’s Newfoundland.

While Ontario has had a heat wave the weather in St John’s has been cool and foggy.  The fog has been almost continuous since I arrived on Sunday and it even caused one aborted attempt at landing when flying in from Ottawa.  The conference has been good and in the evening we have visited Kelly’s Bar which has great fish and chips as well as live music. For vegetarian food I recommend the Sprout too, great curry! (Just realized, showing my British origins with my eating habits – fish n’ chips and curry).

The fog lifted a little today and gave an opportunity to see more of the painted ‘jelly bean’ houses that St John’s is famous for.

Yellow house in St John's NF

One of the 'jelly bean' houses in St John's NF

The conference is now over and I fly back tomorrow afternoon.  However, in the morning I plan on visiting Signal Hill the receiver site of Marconi’s first trans-Atlantic radio transmission.  I will report on the visit  in a later post.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 2:56 pm

    Newfoundland is a great province….having said that never been there (the only province I have not been too) but from the TV ad’s and the pic’s I have seen looks like a great place. On our vacation we were in many British pubs and had the fish and chips….but then again in Newfoundland the fish is fresh. Hope your stay was good and great pic of the homes and their great colours.

    • va3stl permalink*
      June 9, 2011 9:34 pm

      Despite all the fog it was a great place to visit. Today managed to get to Signal Hill and could see very little from that point again because of fog, although the fog horn (somewhere nearby) added to the atmosphere. Looked at VO1AA but there was no operators there unfortunately. Will post, with more pictures soon.

      Thinking about it, I believe that is the first time I have seen five continuous days of fog.

      As for fish and chips… careful, we do have fresh fish too in the chip shops in the UK! It is not too far from the coast wherever you are in Britain. By the way, the town I lived in for eight years before moving to Canada, Mossley, claims to have been the location of the oldest chip shop in Britain. As for the quality of UK fish and chips it seems the best are in the North too. As a Lancashire lad I would agree and extend that geographical distinction to beer too.

      73

  2. June 10, 2011 9:08 am

    Those fish and chips from Mossley look GREAT !!! We had similar in our travels through the U.K we did find the fish in Scotland had a breading type coating they put on. My wife is from Sedgefield for her this trip was like going home. Lastly sorry…did not want to dis the fish and chips from England….:)

Leave a comment