Skip to content

Downspout Antenna

April 3, 2009
tags:

downspout
Image by Rockies via Flickr

I have read about rain gutter and downspout antennas but never tried loading my own or worked somebody using one, until earlier this week when I had a QSO with Craig, KA1GYB.  During our 80m PSK31 chat Craig told me he was using a downspout antenna and had worked 42 countries and 42 states, including Alaska, from his Connecticut QTH with that antenna. His signal gave great copy for me and I was very impressed.  He told me he could load it on 160m to 6m, using an antenna tuner.

Here are some links about this type of stealth antenna:

If you are thinking about trying and using such an antenna, consider all the safety aspects, for example; isolation, RF exposure to those inside the building and voltages at the ends of the downspout.

Please add a comment here if you have tried one and share your findings.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a comment